The real truth

Hi everyone!

This is my very first post and so I figured why not be honest from the very beginning, right? Therefore, I will let you in on a little secret about myself: up to about a year ago I was clueless about the world of healthy living. I’m ashamed to say I had never heard about the magic of chia seeds or the wonder of flax.

Yes, I did have a general idea – fruits and vegetables are good for you, but this was just not enough to keep me away from the crisps/chocolate/anything with cheese that always trumped anything with seeds. Little did I know about the anti-oxidants of blueberries, green tea or dark chocolate. Would I have ever dreamed about substituting white rice for brown rice, white flour for whole wheat or white bread for brown? Definitely not. Spelt, buckwheat, quinoa ?! Excuse me? 

The freedom of University allowed me to eat whatever I pleased and I’m pretty sure I took full advantage of this! Without having any regard for the consequences, chocolate chip cookies, tuna mayo sandwiches, cheesy cheese cheese became the norm. Until early last year when I started to notice a change. There was a dullness in my skin, breakouts were frequent and my clothes just did not fit right. I would go for the occasional fitness class but I did not feel the same sense of satisfaction that I used to. It was then that I started googling health and fitness blogs that would give me some inspiration and a way out of this slump. I came across so many wonderful blogs with such great writers and recipes that I finally realised there was a whole other world out there I had not yet explored. One filled with nourishing your body with the right nutrients, feeling good about yourself and going to bed every night with a sense of accomplishment. You see, I never realised the accumulative effect of each day

Slowly I started to incorporate new and deliciously healthy foods into my diet. For example, for the last few months mornings have incorporated a kale smoothie for breakfast. In the past I’ve had the worst habit of missing breakfast but now, I could not think of a better way to start the day. I feel energised and I just know that today will be productive.

This is just the start of my journey and there is SO MUCH more for me to learn, I can’t wait to explore and continue to discover all the new options. This is an adventure for me and I’m so happy to have an outlet through the same channel that inspired me in the first place. Thank you all for joining me!

“Life isn’t about finding yourself, it’s about creating yourself.” George Bernard Shaw.

2 thoughts on “The real truth

  1. Congrats on starting a healthier journey as well as starting a blog :)! When I was growing up, I rarely ate breakfast and if I did, it was in the form of dry Coco Pops haha! It’s now my favorite meal of the day, and probably my biggest motivation to get out of bed each morning ;)!

  2. Loll there’s nothing better than a sugar high to start off the day….Frosties anyone? 😉 Thank you so much K for the 1st comment and the inspiration! 🙂

Leave a Reply

