Top of the Rock!

Hiii all!

Because I still don’t have an “about” me page yet, I’m sure whoever reads this has no idea that I live in the rock of Gibraltar. This is a little country (approx 2.6 sq miles, with a population of about 30,000 people and limestone rock that is 426 metres high) on the very south of Spain, although we are British… (becareful not to tell anyone otherwise!) A lot of people have never heard of Gibraltar so here is a wikipedia description: http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Gibraltar. The rock has been seen on Popeye’s muscles (when he eats spinach); it has been spoken about in the movie “Larry Crowne”; read about in the book “The girl with the dragon tattoo”; studied about in many history textbooks and even rapped about by Jay Z…”How can you falter, when you’re the rock of Gibraltar?”

Basically, we’re famous. Haha! I love Jay Z’s quote because although this country is so tiny it really has been through a lot, and I feel so patriotic and proud to be a Gibraltarian.

So anyways, yesterday was turning out to be a completely normal day – work, lunchtime pilates, after work manicure…and then a message from a friend asking me if I wanted to hike up the Mediterranean Steps in an hour. The Med Steps is a hike that takes you all the way to the highest point on the rock that you can walk to, and it is something that I’ve always wanted to do. I decided to take a leap of faith and agreed, as long as we left quickly because I definitely did not want to be lost up there in the dark!

Terrible picture but great feeling! ๐Ÿ™‚

Image

View from the top!

We started from our houses and walked all the way up, the steps were huge, the path was windy but the view was amazing. I was definitely not expecting it to be so hard! I felt like I was about to die very tired halfway through and thank god for my friend Varsha who kept spirits high. I’m more of a yoga/ pilates girl myself, so this hike was quite intense. But once we got to the top that I had been waiting for so anxiously, it was all worth it. There was a great feeling of accomplishment and I cannot believe how beautiful the view was! Thank god for long summer evenings here because we were able to walk all the way back down and I reached my house by sunset (21:40). So in total it took us about 2 and a half hours. Once I came home my legs were numbย  and I was exhausted, but so grateful for having the good judgement of preparing my favourite dinner in advance: butternut squash mac’n’cheese! (Thisdeserves a post of its own).Image

Varsha wants to do the Med steps every week, which i’m pretty sure will eventually be the end of me. Lol! But apparently it is very good for toning the lower half of your body and I must admit it does sound like a good way to prepare for summer beach times, so maybe I will consider it.

“Life is either a daring adventure or nothing at all” – Helen Keller

When was the last time that you did something to make you feel on top of the world?ย 

7 thoughts on “Top of the Rock!

  1. WOW, those views are totally breathtaking,that alone is def enough inspiration to keep climbing those steps well into summer! You’re so lucky that the sun sets so late! ๐Ÿ™‚

  2. Hii Renee, the view was pretty amazing all the way through! It was definitely a great experience, and the long evenings are the best part about summer ๐Ÿ™‚

  3. Pingback: Eating habits | Eat, Love, Glow

Leave a Reply

