4 Keys to a Marvellous Life

Growing up I was always extremely anxious. My mind was constantly wondering what other people would think if i did something or how I shouldn’t have made such a stupid comment or how I felt inferior to those around me who were beaming with confidence. I doubted myself all the time.

Whilst attending university and moving out of Gib my self esteem grew, I had good friends but I still did not allow myself to take opportunities because of the risks involved or give myself the credit I deserved. My anxiety continued to eat me up every time I was faced with a challenge that involved stepping outside of my comfort zone.

In January ’12 I came back home after a few years in the UK and, for the first time, without having to worry about studying or exams, I decided to focus on me. I started attending yoga classes (both hatha and spiritual teachings) and it has helped me so much to shred away all the anxiety that layers the peaceful soul. I learnt how important it is to control the mind and to be grateful. Most importantly, I learnt how to be happy with myself and be my own cheer leader.

A story that I always remember from one of the classes is about a woman who could not focus on her meditation, and so she went to her master and told him that it was impossible and she was giving up. He gave her an acorn and asked her what she thought that she held in her hand. She replied “it’s just an acorn” and he answered, “no, you are holding what has the potential to be a huge oak tree”. We have the same potential within us.

So, I just got back from a spiritual teaching which was on the 4 keys to a marvellous life and I decided to share them with you, maybe they will help your life like they have helped mine.

1. Friendliness towards the happy – always be happy for your friends throughout their successes. If you feel jealousy/ envy, there is something within yourself that you are unhappy about.

2. Compassion for the unhappy – never judge people who seem miserable, always be there for them when they are ready to talk.

3. Delight in the virtuous – appreciate the virtues in good people and try to cultivate them in your own life.

4. Disregard the wicked/ignorant – Ignore those who pass malicious remarks. Try to stay out of their company or have an attitude of indifference.

I am getting so much better this year and I realised this progress by being able to meet new people freely without having that pang of nerves, getting excited about adventures instead of dreading them or even being able to click “Publish post”. I’m so grateful for the life that i am living and hope I can continue to grow like the oak tree 🙂

“Make the most of yourself, for that is all there is of you.” -Ralph Waldo Emerson.

2 thoughts on “4 Keys to a Marvellous Life

  1. I loved this post Sonal! Totally loved it! Every single word hit home in a big way! Those 4 keys to a marvelous life…I mean so simple but at the end of the day if we focus on those 4 things and focus on perfecting them…we would be able to rid our own lives of so much self-doubt, worry and unhappiness! Good for you for taking time to focus on yourself! Throughout life you have to lean on and be your own strongest support, it’s about time we learnt to love ourselves more! I love self-improvement, onto bigger and better and to lead life being the best version of myself…and I will try anything that will help me get there! Thanks so much for this awesome read, and yes you better keep hitting ‘publish post’ for as long as your ‘lil heart desires ‘cos you will always have a reader in me 🙂

  2. Renee you have made my whole weekend 🙂 Thank you so, so much for your kind words! It’s true they seem so simple but its a constant work in progress hehe. I’m so happy to have readers like u! 😀

Leave a Reply

