salad to go!

Hello there! 

Happy Saturday! Hope your weekends aren’t going too quickly.

If you are on the go and need to pack a meal to take with you, i just made the cutest, healthiest lunch today and i’m literally finishing the remainders whilst i type this – I couldn’t wait to share it:

Salad

Ingredients (for 2 people)

Smoked salmon (leave out if vegetarian)

1/2 Cucumber

1/2 Red pepper

2 tbsp Olives

1 Carrot grated 

1 Avocado

2 handfuls Spinach leaves

1/4 cup walnuts finely chopped

You can always switch around ingredients to whatever you have in your fridge. Once you have all the ingredients ready – just layer away! This is not very technical but i like to keep the following order:

Bottom – Smoked salmon 

In the middle – cucumber, red pepper, olives, carrot, walnuts

Towards the top – avocado and spinach leaves (so that they don’t get squished).

I also love how the spinach leaves stick out.

Why is it that I find eating salad from a jar so much more fun than from a boring ol’ bowl?

I was debating putting some quinoa into the mix but it is still so hot here that the thought of boiling anything made me queasy. However, putting some quinoa in the middle when it has cooled would be more filling and delicious! 

For the dressing i used a homemade favourite. 

Just pour on top and enjoy straight out of the jar or take it to go!

Does the way you eat a salad make a difference to you? 

 

 

 

6 thoughts on “salad to go!

  1. I totes think the way you eat a salad makes a huge difference! Eating out of a jar adds to the excitement, its such a novel idea! I love it! We’re such kids at heart, doesn’t take much to get us excited haha! 🙂

  2. This salad sounds great…it’s oozing with healthy fats :)! Such a cute idea to put it in a jar- makes it all the more portable! Now that I think about it, I much prefer eating salad out of a bowl…a plate just seems wrong!

  3. Oh gosh I cannot remember the last time I ate a salad in a plate…! Hehe healthy fats are my favourite part of the salad 🙂 I don’t know what it is about the jar but if it makes me excited to eat my greens, I’m all in.

Leave a Reply

