Rain, glorious rain! (And pumpkin seed granola)

Hiiii there!

On Thursday morning I woke up at 8am to find that it was pouring outside. It rained and rained and rained, and then, it rained some more. I found this strangely exhilarating. When it rains, it pours! Coincidently a family member woke up with a high fever that morning and I worked from home to take care of them, which although unfortunate, just added some more fuel to my fire – what is better than staying home on a day when the weather is miserable?! 🙂 It is almost as though for every extra bit of heat we got this summer, there is an extra puddle on the ground. 

So, when it’s autumn and I have my brand new camera, some pumpkin crunchy granola only seemed right for the occasion. The pumpkin seeds are candied and added to a simple granola mix to add a great crunch and some colour. Ready? 

Adapted from www.eatliverun.com

Ingredients:

spice mix—

2 tsp cinnamon

1/2 tsp ground nutmeg

1/2 tsp ground ginger

for candied pepitas—

2 cups pepitas (pumpkin seeds, raw)

1 tbsp butter

1/4 cup honey

1 tsbp brown sugar

1 tsp spice mix

sprinkle of salt

for granola —

4 cups rolled oats

remaining spice mix

1 cup maple syrup

3 tbsp coconut oil

1 tsp salt

Directions:

Preheat the oven to 160 degrees C. and place greaseproof paper on a large baking tray.

For the candied pumpkin seeds:

1. Mix together all the spice mix ingredients in a small bowl and place to the side. 

2. Melt the butter in a large skillet over medium-high heat, add the pumpkin seeds and 1 tsp of the spice mix. Toast seeds, stirring constantly, until they turn golden brown. Add the honey and brown sugar and continue to cook (stirring constantly) for about 2 minutes. 

3. Carefully spread out the candied seeds on a large baking sheet, and let cool for about 12 minutes until no longer sticky.

For the granola:

1. Mix the oats, remaining spice mix and the salt in a large bowl. 

2. Pour the maple syrup with the coconut oil in a small saucepan over high heat, bring to the boil and then reduce heat and let simmer for 2 minutes. 

3. Carefully pour the hot syrup on top of the oats and mix well. 

4. Spread out the granola on the large baking tray. Bake for about 25 minutes, tossing every 5 minutes. When done, remove granola and let cool. Mix in the candied pumpkin seeds well and store in a air tight jar. 

 

 Image

ImageImageI feel like you get the picture. This granola is delicious!

And as it is the last day of September (I have no idea how this has happened), I’m going to revisit the goals that were set a few weeks ago:

1. Exercise every day – ………………..next! Haha okay well i did try, but with work taking over this month it was hard! I still did a fair amount of hiking and yoga, but not every day and this requires more effort. 

2. Read instead of watching TV – I have almost finished the book “Palace of Ilusions” and although I have been tuned in, there has been a definite cut down. 

3. Cook more – Yes! I cook when I can and it really relaxes me.

4. Eat more home food – Well, someone has got to eat what I cook haha! 

5. Get a new camera – Done! Now, my photography needs a lot of practice.

6. Look on the positive side – I’m keeping a journal these days and its helped me so much to clear my mind and focus on the positive and prioritise! I recommend it to anyone who has a lot on their mind.

Have a fabulous last day of September! 🙂 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

6 thoughts on “Rain, glorious rain! (And pumpkin seed granola)

  1. Great going on meeting your goals, Sonal! Don’t beat yourself up too much about not exercising every single day- sometimes life gets in the way and for what it’s worth, I bet you were still more active than most people :)! Love the sound of this granola. Especially with the weather warming up, granola with yogurt & fresh fruit is my ideal breakfast!

  2. That granola looks scrumptious and oh so healthy, I am def trying that soon! I know what you mean aboutt working out everyday and reading more – on my list as well! I manage about x4 week usually but I wanna push that up and cutting down on tv is something I am working on as well! I agree with Khushboo we gotta not beat ourselves up…I hate how that guilt creeps up on you! Goodluck with it Sonal, we’ll all keep each other motivated and accountable! Hope you’re having a fab week ladies 🙂

  3. Well done Renee! 4 times a week is impressive 🙂 You do insanity right? That in itself is an accomplishment, it’s hard! I wish Shaun T was my personal trainer, can you imagine what that would be like? We def. couldn’t watch tv then. haha!

    • Yip I do Insanity (killer!), although I haven’t been able to stick to the recommended schedule of x6 a week…I’ve managed to fit in x4 if I’m lucky x5…and what I’ve recently been doing to up my workouts per week is if I don’t have time or not feeling upto Insanity but I don’t wanna not do anything I’ve been doing Jillian Michaels 30 Day Shred and hopping on the eliptical doing intervals so with that I’ve been getting in x5-x6 for the past 2/3 weeks so it’s progress! I’m starting another round of Insanity soon so gonna give it my best to stick to the x6 p/w! I’m pretty happy though I’ve lost 4.1kgs ( 9lbs ) and am eating better than I ever have! 🙂 Hows your fitness journey / healthy lifestyle going and the intermittent fasting going ? HAHAHA I don’t think I wanna imagine having Shaun T as a trainer (in person) although he would most prob whip you into monster shape asap….I think that’s a fair swop for no tv hahaa 🙂

  4. Renee, you go girl!! Your hard work is paying off, well done on losing 4.1 kgs!! That is really impressive 😀 So healthy eating is going well for me too, in terms of working out…yoga is my main source. This should change soon as I just had a meeting with a personal trainer who will help me with weights and interval training and is as big as Shaun T, but very nice…no yelling 🙂 Will blog about this soon!

Leave a Reply

