Bootcamp

Hii  everyone,

This week has been quite a milestone for me. I joined a bootcamp with the trainer who usually trains me at the gym in a spur of the moment decision with two of my cousins. Bootcamp is held at the beach carpark for the month of March, three times a week (Monday, Wednesday and Friday) at 6:30am (SIX THIRTY AM). The things I do to get out of my “comfort zone”! I’m not naturally an early riser so this week has been a bit difficult and so different from my usual routine. For the first session, it was dark, drizzling and foggy…..nevertheless here is what I love about working out in the morning:

1. My mum always told me that early in the morning is a sacred time – I usually would rather sleep and I never quite realised until now how true that might be. There is something SO peaceful about 6am, when the rest of the country is asleep. Gaining a couple of hours more than everyone really makes me feel like I’m making the absolute most of my day (even if its dark and foggy)…..#winning! 😉

2. I feel like i’m in some kind of secret society. Most of the people who attend bootcamp have done it before and these people are so enthusiastic about working out. At first I found it so amusing that crazy people would wake up in the middle of the night to flip tyres and swing kettlebells – but alas I have now become one of them.

3. The workouts are unlike anything i’ve ever done. If you’ve ever seen the television show “The Biggest Loser”, you would know what I mean. Included in the circuits are kettlebells, burpees, rope undulation, prowler pushing (which is pushing a big trolley like thing from one end to the other with a sandbag and no wheels), swinging a hammer on to a big tyre, bicep curls, lunges, carrying these heavy pieces of equipment around, flipping heavy tyres, and it goes on.

Don't mess with a girl who has a hammer

Don’t mess with a girl who has a hammer

4. I don’t have to worry about working out for the rest of the day!

5. It is so fun working out with others rather than by myself, there is constant motivation and healthy competition. 😉

The only downfall on bootcamp is how tired you can feel on Friday night! Naps are recommended.

Have you ever been to a bootcamp? 

2 thoughts on “Bootcamp

  1. Woo go you for starting Bootcamp…it sounds intense but getting out of your comfort zone can only be a good thing! I’ve been to a few classes and always felt DEAD (in a weirdly good way) afterwards. There’s actually a bootcamp going on every morning in a nearby park but the idea of such early wake-up calls makes me cringe….I don’t know how I used to be able to fit in 6am workouts! However like you, I always feel so much better afterwards so I might have to try these classes- thanks for the motivation :)!

    • Thanks Khushboo! I suggest don’t even think about it, just try it! 🙂 What’s the harm? Honestly when the session is over, it’s one of the best feelings – like you know your day is going to be productive ! 🙂 Let me know how it goes!

Leave a Reply

