Homemade Nutella

Hi everyone! 

I don’t know about you guys but i’ve always found Nutella to be one of the best things man ever made. The chocolate hazelnut spread that gave me so many delicious ways to eat it: on toast, on pancakes, on anything, and of course, straight out of the spoon. Yum yum. 

I haven’t actually had Nutella since I started this quest on healthy eating – or rather haven’t bought the tub home but it’s sneakily made its way back to me via ferrero rochers and ice cream flavours 🙂 

My cousin is also another fan of Nutella but since she is on a paleo diet and cannot have any, I decided to make her a paleo, vegan version for her birthday. The result was better than expected. Roasted hazelnuts are the bomb ! 🙂 It’s also pretty easy with the most time consuming process being blanching the hazelnuts….ready? 

Adapted from Paleo Spirit

Ingredients

1 cup hazelnuts

1/2 cup coconut milk

2 tablespoons coconut oil

1/2 cup maple syrup

1/4 cup cocoa powder

1/4 teaspoon vanilla essence

Pinch of sea salt

If the hazelnuts are not already blanched – 

1. Preheat the oven to 175 degrees C. 

2. Roast the hazelnuts for 10 minutes.

Image

Roasted hazelnuts

3. With a damp cloth rub the hazelnuts to remove the skin easily and place in a bowl.

Image4. Try your best not to eat all the roasted hazelnuts.

5. Place blanched hazelnuts into the food processor and process until creamy.

6. Add coconut milk, coconut oil, maple syrup, cocoa powder, vanilla essence and pinch of salt into the food processor and continue to process until smooth.

7. Store in the refrigerator.

Image

Homemade nutella

Have it with a spoon….

Image

I saved a bit for myself and the rest for my cousin, but my part didn’t last for long ! 

Image

This recipe turned out to be better than I expected – so much so that I must make some more for myself today! 🙂

Have you ever made homemade Nutella? 

7 thoughts on “Homemade Nutella

  1. ER YUM-EE! I have such a soft spot for Nutella..having an open jar at home can get dangerous if you know what I mean! Before I started eating healthier, Nutella toast used to be my go-to breakfast in boarding school. To be fair, I did use wholemeal bread ;)! Your cousin is a lucky gal that she has you to whip her a batch of this…looks legit to me! Do you think it would work out okay with almond milk instead of coconut milk?

    • Well as long as you used wholemeal bread, it’s fine 😉 Thanks K, she loved it! 🙂 You could definitely try it with almond milk – I can’t imagine why it would be any different. When you put it in the fridge it sets to a “harder” nutella kind of texture (rather than runny right after the processing). So hopefully the same thing would happen with almond milk, let me know if you try it – i’m intrigued!

Leave a Reply

