London Restaurant Review

Hii everyone!

I was in London last week and I had such a great time babysitting my little nephews, meeting friends and eating….a lot,Β and it was worth every bite. I love trying new places in London! So without further adieu, here are my restaurant reviews πŸ˜‰ This is a long post, so get comfy.

1. Nobu (Berkley Street)

This was the first restaurant I went to the day after we arrived London. I was lucky to be in London this weekend, the same time as a few of my old university friends. Somewhere fancy was chosen, and we ate like kings (and then paid the hefty bill at the end – but it was worth it, and i’m sure if you ask them they would say the same). Apologies for the poor photos, the restaurant is quite dark and so the pictures doesn’t do Nobu justice!

photo-115

image-13

Mochi

Highly recommended dishes here are the yellowtail sashimi with jalapeno and the black cod den miso. For dessert we had mochi! This is a japanese rice cake and it was filled with different flavoured ice creams – coconut, green tea, mango, hazelnut and more!

2. MildredsΒ (Lexington Street)

I had been to Mildreds in Soho a couple of years ago and I knew that I just had to bring my vegetarian mother here. It’s so cute and “hipster”. She had the stir fry asian vegetables (on brown rice), and I had the burger of the day which was a bean, red pepper and parsley burger (on sourdough bread) – served with sweet potato fries and basil mayo (vegan).

image-16

image-14

Both choices were amazing. The food was fresh, the service was friendly and portions were sufficient as you can tell!

3. Le Pain Quotidien (Westfields mall)

We went to Le Pain Quotidien in an impulse for a quick lunch break during a busy shopping session. I loved the atmosphere, it was relaxed, familiar with a fresh bread smell. The service was also great, we ordered a tuna salad and an avocado and white bean tartine.

image-15

image-17

Although I did enjoy this restaurant, what struck a cord with me was that the “freshly squeezed” orange juice was quite obviously from a carton and when you pay over Β£3 for it, you would really want it to be fresh! Apart from that, the food was good but yet I wonder if I could recreate this at home? The fresh bread smell and casual atmosphere was the best part of the meal for me personally.

4. Richoux (St Johns Wood)

I could not think of a better place to go for an after dinner rendezvous/ dessert with an old friend. Everything about this restaurant screams Paris to me: the setting, the snobbish waiters, the pastries and delicious desserts all laid out for you for drool at. We went big and ordered one hot chocolate fudge cake with vanilla ice cream.

image-18

Could this dessert possibly be anything but delicious? πŸ˜‰ I loved the date we were having but shame that Richoux closes at 11pm and their staff asked us to leave about 3 times. Also a shame that I ordered a fresh mint tea (hot water with fresh mint leaves on top) for Β£3.50, when I pretty much make the same thing at home for free. These things always pinch me. Never the less, an hour with chocolate cake and an old friend in a fancy french setting is worth the money. (Also, they serve breakfast all day which is always fun).

image-19

On a different night, during the same trip

5. Maison Blanc (St Johns Wood)

This place is SO cute! I can’t think of a better word than that. I had passed by a few times and knew I just had to go inside one day whilst I was strolling the high street. I had so much selection to choose from with their wide range of pastries and cakes, and ended up having a banoffee gateau with a peppermint tea.

image-20

Quiet time never felt so good, I could have probably stayed there for hours. This place is lovely, the staff is welcoming and if you do go I highly recommend the Concerto cake which won the Great Taste Award (gold) for 2012. I had picked it up for my brother and sister-in-law’s anniversary and everyone fell head over heels for this ferrero rocher- like cake!

6. Abokado (Baker’s Street)

Along with the expensive food, a fast and quick option should be also be explored and Abokado was great for that! It had a good selection of sushi (my favourite) and soups, wraps, salads as well as other healthy options. I liked it especially because I went with blogger friend Khushboo! We both had sushi.

image-21

Mine was a big helping πŸ˜‰

Although this was “fast food” for people on the go, there were some great nutritious options there. Basically anywhere with sushi and Khushboo has my vote.

Have you ever been to London? What are your favourite restaurants to go to?Β 

5 thoughts on “London Restaurant Review

  1. Ahh I love you :)! Was so great meeting finally and can’t wait to see each other again…which will be happening soon with your upcoming Mumbai trip on the horizon! For what it’s worth, we have Starbucks, Pinkberry AND Le Pain Quotidien…and of course I will get you the best cookies ever while you’re there!

    • Sorry for the super late reply! But that day was soo much fun!! Hope you took my advice on breakfast club and Roka and Mildreds πŸ˜‰ You sold me on Mumbai, as for the cookies – can we follow the Sweetish house mafia around? I love the nano idea! Also, I couldn’t stay away for very long and am coming back to London weekend of the 15th – will msg you if you’re around! πŸ™‚

  2. Pingback: Scallop stir fry with peanut sauce | Eat, Love, Glow

Leave a comment